Mid-Central Regional Center

The Mid-Central Regional Center is responsible for implementing AHEC goals in 19 counties (13 rural and six urban): Arenac, Bay, Clare, Clinton, Eaton, Gladwin, Gratiot, Huron, Ingham, Ionia, Isabella, Mecosta, Midland, Montcalm, Osceola, Saginaw, Sanilac, Shiawassee, and Tuscola—a service area that includes more than 1.4 million people.

Our Regional Center partner, Central Michigan University, recently established a College of Medicine to help fill imminent needs for physicians and provide medical education opportunities for qualified students. Emphasis will be placed on training primary care physicians dedicated to serving the needs of communities in mid- and northern Michigan.